Conference 2020

Conference 2020 Registration Speakers Program Pre-conference Accommodation

Vision 20/20: Sights on Solutions

Environment Funders Canada warmly invites members and other philanthropic funders to join our 2020 Conference, which will take place in Kelowna B.C.  the week of May 25th. While the reality of negative environmental impacts in Canada and around the globe are clearly evident, we are opting for a solutions focus for the 2020 conference program. What’s working and why? How are funders engaging with new solutions? How can solutions be scaled up? How are Indigenous and other local communities, as well as the broader natural world, poised to thrive as a result?

Our motivation is to provide the philanthropic community with networking opportunities and knowledge sharing that focus on promising solutions that funders can be instrumental in advancing.

The Conference Program is evolving but we are honing in on the following themes, with speakers and sessions to be confirmed in the following weeks:

·       Natural Climate Solutions 

·       Technological Solutions for Environmental Challenges

·       Transition Solutions for a Low Carbon Economy

·       Transformative Financial Approaches for Sustainability

·       Innovative Funding and Evaluation Practices.

The conference is guided by a strong Advisory Committee, noted below, and chaired by James Littley of the Okanagan Basin Water Board. Details on the conference program will be posted as they are confirmed.

Environment Funders Canada’s commitment to reconciliation, inclusive communities and a future that is good for people, planet and place will underpin the planning and delivery of all of the conference programming.

Environment Funders Canada – 2020 Conference Advisory Committee

Kariann Aarup, de Gaspé Beaubien Foundation
Kris Archie, The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
Jennifer Canham, The Garfield Weston Foundation
Laurence East, Central Okanagan Foundation
Margaret Herriman, Max Bell Foundation
Ashley Hardill, Coast Funds
James Littley, Okanagan Basin Water Board
Caroline North, North Growth Management
Hedy Rubin, Real Estate Foundation of BC
Carolyn Scotchmer, TD Friends of the Environment Foundation
Andre Vallillee, Metcalf Foundation
Wendy Vanasselt, Wilburforce Foundation
Karen Wilkie, Carthy Foundation